What To Do After A Car Accident
If you are involved in a traffic collision or other type of motor vehicle accident, certain steps must be taken in the immediate aftermath of the crash. In the moments after a crash occurs, it can be difficult to remember what you need to do next, especially while working through the initial shock of the accident. Unfortunately, this can lead to forgetting important details when documenting the scene or exchanging information with other participants or witnesses.
If you or someone you love suffered an injury during a recent car crash, please do not wait to get the legal help you need. Pfaff, Gill & Ports, Ltd., is a well-respected litigation firm devoted to helping Illinois accident victims seek fair compensation to alleviate your financial stresses and help you start to recover. Call us today for a free consultation at 872-225-0195.
What Should You Do After A Car Accident In Illinois?
State law requires any driver involved in an Illinois crash or collision to:
Step one — Stay where you are
It is unlawful to leave the scene of an accident. The consequences for fleeing an accident scene include up to three years in jail, revocation or suspension of driving privileges and a $25,000 fine.
Step two — Assess the situation
After a car accident occurs, it is important to ensure that all participants are safe. This may require moving vehicles to a safer location to remove any chance for further damage. It could also require helping anyone who has suffered an injury and calling for emergency assistance.
Step three — Exchange information
Once all participants are safe or accounted for, it is time to exchange personal information with the other drivers and potential witnesses. By law, you are required to provide:
- Name, address and other contact information
- Driver’s license number
- Insurance information
- Make, model, year and license plate numbers of all vehicles involved
In addition to exchanging the above information, you should also consider taking photographs to document the scene of the accident, weather conditions and damage to all vehicles involved with the crash. Detailed documentation can be very helpful when battling insurance companies or if there is an issue with another driver.
Step four — Report the accident
If an accident results in injury, death or more than $1,500 of property damage, it must be reported to the Illinois Department of Transportation as well as the local police. The police should be called to the scene of an accident anytime a person becomes injured, no matter the severity.
We Help Accident Victims Fight For Fair Compensation
It is never too to call an attorney after an accident. At Pfaff, Gill & Ports, Ltd., we understand the complexities of motor vehicle and commercial truck accidents. We offer strong legal support and aggressive representation throughout the entire process.